Blogging

Blog

Whew. This is awkward. The blog is not here.

That's because the location is still in flux. Where do I want to blog? Which service has the most appropriate tools? Do I want social aspects or as few as possible? Do I want federated or do I go where the fans are? Am I even capable of long-form blogging anymore?

So there's actually a few places I'm trying out so far:

fandom.ink - a fandom-friendly Mastodon instance, this is where I do my microblogging. With 500 characters and threaded posts, it has the ability to deal with longer thoughts, but is fairly ephemeral. I am, however, there pretty much all the time, at least daily. Also, if I'm posting elsewhere I'm likely to post a link on Mastodon, so it's probably the best and most consistent place to follow me. It's federated, so you can follow me from any Mastodon instance and many other federated services (the only one I've tested so far and actually pulls Mastodon posts into the timeline is hubzilla, but pleroma definately works as well).

Dreamwidth - Dreamwidth isn't federated, but it is very fandom-friendly, and quite social, having all those old LJ-esque social functions. There's a lot going on on Dreamwidth post-tumblrpocalypse, and I've actually been using it a bit. A small bit, but still, I'm there.

Wordsmith - a writefree.ly instance, I made an account so I could make longer form posts and share them to Mastodon. Writefree.ly doesn't have a comment function, but is federated, so you can follow my blog there from Mastodon (and other federated services, YMMV) and comment on the shortpost. However, I don't get notifications via Wordsmith, so if you're commenting on my posts please @ my fandom.ink account.

I also have a Plume account, but haven't actually used it (past the obligatory test post).